School of Mathematics and Statistics

International Mathematical Union Executive Committee Biographies

The International Mathematical Union is an international non-governmental and non-profit scientific organisation, with the purpose of promoting international cooperation in mathematics. 

It is with great pleasure that we welcome the Executive Committee to The University of Western Australia in 2011.

Executive Committee Members

Professor Ingrid Daubechies, President

Ingrid Daubechies is currently a Professor at Duke University. She has previously held positions at Princeton University, AT&T Bell Labs and Vrije Universiteit Brussel. She is currently the President of the International Mathematical Union. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1994 and received the National Academy of Sciences Award in Mathematics in 2000. She is best known for her work with wavelets in image compression, with several wavelets named after her, including one now used in the JPEG 2000 standard. 

Professor Martin Groetschel, Secretary

Martin Groetschel is a professor in the department of mathematics at the Technical University of Berlin and is Vice-President of the Konrad-Zuse Centre for Scientific Computing. He is Secretary of the International Mathematical Union. From November 2002 till May 2008 he served as Chair of the DFG Research Center MATHEON “Mathematics for key technologies”. His current research is focused on problems of optimisation which arise in the management of public transportation, and in telecommunications. He is a foreign associate of the National Academy of Engineering, USA and is recipient of many honours, including the Fulkerson Prize, IBM Prize, Karl Heinz Beckurts Prize, George B. Dantzig Prize, John von Neumann Theory Prize and the SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession.

Professor Christiane Rousseau, Vice President

Christiane Rousseau is Professor at Université de Montréal and is a Vice-President of the IMU. Throughout her career she has played an active role in the promotion of mathematics including popularization with the public and activities for school kids and teachers. She is the coordinator of the North American thematic year on ``Mathematics of Planet Earth'' in 2013. Her main area of research is dynamical systems. 

Professor Marcelo Viana, Vice President

Marcelo Viana is Director of the Instituto de Matemática Pura e Aplicada in Brazil and is a Vice-President of the IMU. He is winner of the Ramanujan Prize, a member of the Brazilian, Portuguese and Chilean Academy of Sciences and also of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World. His research interests lie in dynamical systems, ergodic theory and bifurcation theory.

Professor László Lovász, Immediate Past President

László Lovász is Professor in the Department of Computer Science of the Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest, Hungary. He was previously a professor at Yale University and Senior Researcher at Microsoft Research. He was President of the International Mathematical Union from 2007 to 2010. He is a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and an Honorary member of the London Mathematical Society. Among his many honours are receipt of the Wolf Prize, the Knuth Prize, the Bolyai Prize, and Hungary's Szechenyi Grand Prize. He received the 2010 Kyoto Prize for Basic Science. His research interests include combinatorial optimization, algorithms, complexity, graph theory and random walks.

Professor Manuel de León, Member at Large

Manuel de León is Research Professor in the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Madrid. He is a Fellow of the Real Academia de Ciencias (Spain) and was the ICM President in 2006 (held in Spain). His research interests include differential geometry, nonholonomic mechanics and optimal control theory.

Professor Yinming Long, Member at Large

Yiming Long is Professor and Director of the Chern Institute of Mathematics, Nankai University, China. He is a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, a fellow of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World, and a Vice President of the Chinese Mathematical Society. His research interests include Hamiltonian dynamics, Variational methods and Symplectic geometry. He was an invited speaker at the ICM-2002, and won the TWAS prize in mathematics in 2004.

Professor Cheryl Praeger, Member at Large

Cheryl Praeger is Director of the Centre for Mathematics of Symmetry and Computation, and an ARC Federation Fellow at the University of Western Australia. She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, Member of the Order of Australia, current Western Australian Scientist of the Year, and Chair of the Australian Council of Heads of Mathematical Sciences. Her research interests are in Algebra and Combinatorics, studying the symmetry of complex structures.

Professor Vasudevan Srinivas, Member at Large

Vasudevan Srinivas is a professor in the School of Mathematics at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India. His research interests are best described as algebraic geometry, and since 1994, he has been a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences. His recent distinctions include the B. M. Birla Science Award (1995), the Bhatnagar Prize (2003) and he was an invited speaker at the 2010 International Congress of Mathematicians.

Professor John Toland, Member at Large

John Toland is Professor of Mathematics at the University of Bath, Scientific Director at the International Centre for Mathematical Sciences, and the President of the London Mathematical Society. Professor Toland's research interests include mathematical analysis and nonlinear partial differential equations, and he has made substantial contributions to the rigorous theory of steady water waves. In 1978, he proved Stokes' conjecture on the existence of gravity waves of maximum height on deep water, a previously open problem in mathematical hydrodynamics which dated back to the 19th century. His collaboration with the Australian mathematician E. N. Dancer won him the London Mathematical Society's Senior Berwick Prize in 2000.

Professor Wendelin Werner, Member at Large

Wendelin Werner is Professor at Université Paris-Sud 11 in Orsay. He has received many mathematical prizes, most notably a Fields medal in 2006 (the mathematical equivalent of a Nobel Prize). His research is in the area of self-avoiding random walks, Schramm-Loewner evolution, and related theories in probability theory and mathematical physics.

Back to top 


School of Mathematics and Statistics

This Page

Last updated:
Monday, 24 January, 2011 9:23 AM